Headliners for WeGotTickets Musical Comedy Awards 2017!


We are very excited to announce all our headliners for the coming competition, some of the finest musical comedy acts in the country. Remember you can see all of these amazing acts plus the competition contestants by getting a secret early bird Phoenix Pass which gets you in to all eight Phoenix shows for £15. Here is the link: http://www.wegottickets.com/sct/V8dkqzfvE4

WeGotTickets Musical Comedy Awards 2017
Live at the Phoenix, Cavendish Square
Saturdays, 3-5.30pm

Jan 14 – Heat 1 with FOUR FEMMES ON THE THAMES
Jan 21 – Heat 2 with JOLLYBOAT
Jan 28 – Heat 3 with ADAM KAY
Feb 4 – Heat 4 with JAY FOREMAN
Feb 25 – Quarter-Final 1 with JENNY BEDE
Mar 4 – Quarter-Final 2 with MITCH BENN
March 18 – Semi-Final 1 with GARETH RICHARDS
March 25 – Semi-Final 2 with RACHEL PARRIS

We’ll be setting up individual events and ticketing options for each individual show but definitely recommend the early bird discount (see link above)!


Enter the 9th WeGotTickets Musical Comedy Awards!


On October 1st we will be opening doors to enter the 9th WeGotTickets Musical Comedy Awards! Every year we come across so many fantastic new musical comedy acts breaking through on the circuit and also have the privilege of welcoming back acts that have competed before and further honed their talent! We’re all booked in to the Phoenix for our first round heats, Quarter-Finals and Semi-Finals and soon we will be able to confirm the date for our final at the Udderbelly on Southbank! Please read our terms and conditions here: https://musicalcomedyawards.com/competition-terms-and-conditions/ and post a video of your original musical comedy material to our Facebook page between October 1st and December 11th. We simply cannot wait to see the entries!

Full lineups for MCA Edinburgh shows!

Tina heavy crop 1

Here our now our finalised lineups! This year we have aimed to make the Edinburgh shows a showcase of our competition final, firstly to show off what an excellent bunch of musical comedians we had the honour of hosting in our competition and secondly to give our finalists as much as promotion as possible. We hope you can make it – at 22.10 on the 12th and 13th in the Underbelly, Belly Dancer. Here is the ticket link:http://www.wegottickets.com/musicalcomedy…/searchresults/all



★★★★★’A surreal and wonderful experience’ – TO DO LIST
★★★★★’A satisfying side-splitting combination’- THE GAY UK
‘A glorious eighties throwback – wonderfully entertaining’ – CHORTLE
‘Mrs Overall meets Beyonce – a definite crowd pleaser’ – BEYOND THE JOKE
‘A remarkable tour de force…generates waves of laughter’. – ARTHUR SMITH

Lineup for Friday 12th

Four Femmes on the Thames – ‘They simply stole the show from the moment they strutted confidently on.’ – Bruce Dessau, EVENING STANDARD
Micky P Kerr – ‘One of the most genuinely hilarious, lovable and wonderfully offbeat acts to have graced the MCA stage.’ – Ed Chappel, MCA organiser
Jon Long – ‘Clever gags and witty songs…delivered with laser-guided timing.’ – Bruce Dessau, EVENING STANDARD
Katie Pritchard – ‘Rather brilliant….who knew portraying a tea cup could be so funny.’ – EVERYTHING THEATRE
Hannah Brackenbury – ‘Her songs are both bloody funny and beautifully touching.’ – Vicky Nangle, LATEST 7
Uke’s Not Dead – ‘Punky folk songs….impossible not to like.’ – Bruce Dessau, EVENING STANDARD

Lineup for Saturday 13th

Four Femmes on the Thames (see above)
Micky P Kerr (see above)
Jon Long (see above)
Making Faces – ‘Impressive delivery…there’s an exuberant joy to their cartoonish exaggerations.’ – Steve Bennett, CHORTLE
Rachel Parris – ‘One sometimes doubts that Britain’s got talent, but Parris has it in spades.’ ★★★★ GUARDIAN
Hannah Brackenbury (see above)

See you there!!!



What an incredible night! Thanks so much to all who came and all our amazing finalists! More photos, videos and review to follow, but here are the results: our audience favourite was Jon Long, who was also 3rd. In second place was Micky P Kerr and the winners of the 2016 WeGotTickets Musical Comedy Awards are Four Femmes on the Thames! Congratulations all on a fantastic evening!

four femmes final

Final Four Through to the Final

The four finalists who will be joining Hannah Brackenbury and Four Femmes are Steve Grainger and Uke’s Not Dead, Michael Peter Kerr, Jon Long and Making Faces! Congratulations! Thanks so much to all the brilliant acts who took part in what has been an amazing competition. To those who didn’t make the final, we really hope to see you enter again next year – you’re brilliant. Tickets for the final are selling fast atwww.wegottickets.com/musicalcomedyawards

Making FacesMicky 1Jon 1Ukes not Dead